Documentation Index

Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.revsure.cloud/llms.txt

Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

User Groups

Prev Next

Introduction

A ‘User Group’ is a group of users that are assigned a specific role and permissions. User Groups have roles that have scopes — Operational, Screen level, and Data level — which determine the kind of access the user group members have. Users can be assigned roles and permissions only by defining and adding them to a user group. RevSure exports predefined user groups out-of-the-box (OOB), which can be modified or cloned to suit your requirements. You can also create new user groups based on your requirements.

Do note that a user can only belong to one user group at a time. In case a user's user group needs to be changed, it can easily be done by removing the current user group they belong to and then adding them to a new one.

If a user group is assigned multiple roles, then the overall permissions for that user group are a union of the permissions of the two roles.

Roles

Roles govern the operational scope/permissions of a user. RevSure allows 4 predefined roles to be assigned to users in a user group. No new roles can be created.

Account Admin

This is the highest level of role in the system. They have access to all scopes.

User Admin

This role is mainly for administering the users of the application.

Publisher

This role has access to all the dashboarding pages and the data hub of RevSure.

Viewer

This role is mainly for consuming the information from the dashboarding pages. They have the least amount of scope in the system.

Role

View / Edit / Export

What?

Account Admin

View, Edit, Save, and Export

All modules and pages

View and Edit

Data sources, Data model, Config center, User management

User Admin

View and Edit

User management

Publisher

View, Edit, Save, and Export

All modules and pages (except user management)

View and Edit

Data sources, Data model

Viewer

View, Save, and Export

All modules and pages (except user management and data hub)

What does each permission do?

View — Allows the user to view the page

Edit — Allows the user to edit the page by adding new filters, splits, additional table dimensions etc.,

Save — Allows the user to save the view on a page

Export — Allows the user to export the data from a page in the form of a CSV.

Pre-defined User Groups

A few predefined user groups have been created out of the box in RevSure. These are:

Account Admins

This user group maps to the ‘Account Admin’ role. Since the ‘Account Admin’ role is the overarching role in the system, you cannot add another role along with it to a user group.

User Admins

This user group maps to the ‘User Admin’ role. The users mapped to this role can add and edit users and user groups. They also manage the logins and the ‘Modules and Plan' page, which controls which modules of RevSure are exposed to users.

Analysts

The ‘Analysts’ user group is mainly the users of the various dashboarding pages and the Data Hub.

Company Leadership

This user group mainly has ‘View’ and ‘Export’ permissions for the dashboarding modules and pages only. They don’t have access to the data hub either.

You can also view the permission a user group has by clicking on ‘View’ in the ‘Group Permissions’ column.

Creating a New User Group

To create a new User Group, click on the ‘Add New Group’ button. Then select the roles you would want to map to this group. Let’s take an example to create a user role with 2 roles and allow the users to view all pages, edit selected pages, and not have any export permissions.

For each role, a new section will be created under the ‘Permissions’ tab. Since there are 2 roles in the above user group, you will need to select the operational permissions (View/Edit/Export) for each role’s section. The final permissions that this user group would attain would be a union of the edited permissions from the two roles.

  1. Remove ‘Export’ permission for all pages from the ‘Viewer’ role.

  2. Remove the ‘Edit’ permissions for a few of the pages and remove the ‘Export’ permission for all the pages.

Data Scopes

You will also see a ‘Scope’ tab next to the ‘Permissions’ tab while creating a group. This allows you to select the scope at a data level. You can include or exclude any data for the users of this user group based on your requirements. The data scope gets applied during runtime for only this group of users, while users without any data scope filtered will have all levels of permission.

As an example, let’s assume you want this group of users to only have access to Accounts from the EU region.

  1. Create a new user group

  2. Give it a name, description, and role (say Publisher)

  3. Choose which modules they will have access to and what access (save, export)

  4. Under the scope tab, choose ‘Only Include’

  5. Choose the attribute that defines Accounts from the EU region. In this case, Account Region = ‘EMEA’ is being used

  6. Click ‘Add Group’

The Users of this group will now have access to only the specific data. Their reports will not contain data outside their scope of reporting.

Similarly, if you use ‘Exclude’, the users will have access to all data except the excluded specified in the following condition

Adding Users to a User Group

You can add new users to a user group from the ‘Users’ page. One user can only belong to one User Group.

Editing an Existing User Group

You can edit a user group by clicking on the user group that you want to edit to bring up the side panel. Then click the ‘Edit Group’ button next to the user group name.